you're reading...
S'pore's Opposition Parties

Reform Party announces walkabout in Choa Chu Kang and calls for early release of electoral boundary changes

Reform Party Announces Walkabout in Choa Chu Kang and Calls for Early Release of Electoral Boundary Changes, 10 Dec 2009

The Reform Party has called on the government to release well ahead of the next General Election the new constituency boundaries stemming from the planned electoral changes announced in the President’s Address on18th May 2009.

At the moment the only things that we have been told is that the number of Single Member Constituencies (SMC) will be increased from 9 to 12 and that the average size of a Group Representation Constituency (GRC) will decrease.

The fact that the Elections Department is a unit of the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), and that the PM appoints and sets the terms of reference for the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee, gives the ruling party a potentially enormous and unfair advantage over the opposition in preparing for elections. Our calls for the Elections Department and the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee to be removed from the PMO and made independent of political control have been ignored. Also the government has not responded to our request for release of the new boundaries at least six months before the next election so as to give us the barest minimum time to prepare.

Nevertheless, the Reform Party is continuing its programme of walkabouts this Sunday (13th December 2009) and will be targeting Hong Kah and Chua Chu Kang, among other constituencies. This is despite not knowing whether they will disappear or be drastically altered as a result of the planned changes.

We will be visiting Block 143, Teck Whye Lane starting from 8am. We will be covering the food centre, market and shops. The primary purpose of the walkabout is to introduce the Reform Party and its leadership to the Chua Chu Kang electorate. We look forward to meeting you and extending our grassroots reach. Please click on this link for a map of the area:

Released by the Reform Party’s CEC:

Kenneth Jeyaretnam
Edmund Ng
James Teo
Tony Tan
Justin Ong
Amy Lui
Mohammed Affendy
Quek Teow Chuan
Tan Tee Seng



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

My twitter

%d bloggers like this: